skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

skip to content

Birth Certificates

Florida Department of Health in Alachua County

Vital Statistics 

To protect the privacy of sensitive information and to prevent identify theft, Birth Certificates are not public records. As required by state law, we restrict access to these certificates, but they are readily available to the individuals, family members and guardians or beneficiaries. We require requesting individuals to produce photo identification and/or other documentation before releasing these confidential records or portions of the records.

There are fees associated with obtaining these records. Please see the FAQ section below for the associated costs.

Visit our Gainesville office: Florida Birth and Death Certificates
The Florida Department of Health in Alachua County
224 SE 24th Street
Gainesville, FL 32641
Phone number: (352) 334-7970
We are open from 8:00am to 4:00pm, Monday through Friday

Visit our Alachua Office: Florida Birth Certificates ONLY
15530 NW US HWY 441
Suite 10010
Alachua, FL 32615
Phone number: (386) 462-2542
We are open from 8:00am to 4:00pm, Monday through Friday

Obtaining a Birth Certificate 

A majority of the time, copies of birth certificates are requested for identification, to prove citizenship and for other purposes. The State Office of Vital Statistics, located at 1217 Pearl Street, Jacksonville, FL (904-359-6900), maintains the original copies of the birth records from all counties within the State of Florida. The Florida Department of Health in Alachua County provides you with a certified certificate that you can legally keep and use.

The Florida Department of Health in Alachua County, Office of Vital Statistics, can access birth records for anyone born within the State of Florida from 1930 to the present. All others prior to 1930 would need to be requested from the State Office of Vital Statistics in Jacksonville.

Who can obtain a copy of a Birth Certificate?
Individuals 18 years of age and older may obtain their own certificate.
Parents or guardians (who present court documents showing legal custody).
Attorneys representing children and adolescents under age 18 (documentation must also be provided).


What information is needed for Birth Certificates?
A valid form of photo identification such as a driver’s license, State ID issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles, passport or military ID, for mailed requests please provide enlarged, lightened, readable photocopies.
A completed Birth Certificate Request Form
You will also need to provide the person's:
Full name
Date of birth
County of birth
Mother's full name including maiden name (for Birth Certificates)
Father's full name (if applicable on Birth Certificates)

FAQ 

How soon can I expect a copy?
Your request will be processed the same day it is received from you by mail.
Your request will be processed immediately if you come to our office in person.

What is the cost?
Birth Certificates are $15.00 for one certified copy and $7.00 for each additional copy requested at the same time as the original request and on the same person.

  • We accept cash (walk-in only), checks (walk-in only), money orders and credit cards. DO NOT SEND CASH OR PERSONAL CHECKS BY MAIL.
  • If mailing payment, please provide an enlarged, lightened, and readable photocopy of both your photo ID and credit card.