Environmental Health - Contact Us
Generator Permit: $85.00
Treatment Permit: $85.00
Storage Permit: $85.00
Transporter Permit: $85.00 (includes one vehicle, add $10.00 for each add'l vehicle)
There are an estimated 30,000 biomedical waste generators in Florida. These include hospitals, clinics, nursing homes, laboratories, funeral homes, dentists, veterinarians, and physicians. The objective of the biomedical waste program is to protect health care workers, environmental-service staff, waste haulers, and the general public from risks associated with potentially infectious biomedical waste.
The Florida Department of Health in Alachua County manages the Biomedical Waste Program for the following North Central Florida Counties: Alachua, Bradford, Columbia, Dixie, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Lafayette, Levy, Putnam, Suwannee and Union.
Permits are valid from October 1 through September 30.
The above site contains information regarding the Florida Department of Health's Biomedical Waste Program, including links to Section 381.0098, Florida Statute and Chapter 64E-16, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.).